XYDEXX - Directory of Things

Historical Stuff

Break Neck: A small collection of houses on the east bank of the Hudson, about two miles north of Cold Spring, through which the River-road runs to Fishkill Landing. Many of the best stone-quarries in this town are located here; also the brick-yard of Clark, Esq., and a short distance south of it, the brick-yard belonging to the estate of Daniel Fowler, deceased. These are the only places where brick is manufactured in this town. It takes its name from Break Neck Hill, at the southern base of which it lies; the etymology of the name will be given in the description of the "Hill." Here is a dock, erected by the Harlem High Bridge Company, who rented from Messrs. Howard & Haldane, a few years since, their stone-quarries and the adjacent land, from which a greater part of the stone at this place is shipped.

BEACON HISTORICAL SOCIETY

Howland Cultural Center
477 Main Street
Beacon, NY 12508

Mailing address:
PO Box 89
Beacon, NY 12508

The Howland Cultural Center was originally built as a library in 1872, and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Society's mission is to discover, obtain and preserve whatever relates to the history of Beacon and to foster awareness, appreciation and interest in local history. The collections include several hundred photographs, archival materials, oral histories on videos of local men going to WW II (from original film), newspapers from 1852 to the present, and maps.

The Center is open Thursday from 10am–12pm, and Saturdays from 1pm–3pm. Research access is by written request.